Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Light, Crustless Quiche

I have become quite famous amongst my friends at school for my light, crustless quiche. Really, it all started because one of my friends was having a family crisis. Her mom broke her hip, and she was totally overwhelmed by the situation. Being the only American on the floor of my school, I quickly made her a light quiche lorraine and delivered it to her the next day. She was startled to say the least, and I had to explain myself….IMG_2828

As you may know, in the States it is a tradition to deliver a homemade, savory good when somebody is undergoing a crisis. Why? Because when you have a family crisis, you barely have the time or the willingness to cook, let alone eat. When people deliver a lasagna, a pot of chili, or a quiche to a grieving household, they are saying “I’m here for you.” It is a wonderful thing that nobody knows about the United States, and my friend was genuinely surprised and grateful for the gesture.

I always make my quiches with spinach, tomato, canadian bacon, and Asagio or  Parmesan Cheese. I think the Canadian bacon and Parmesan (or Asagio) gives the quiche a cool, smokey flavor. Because the rest of the quiche ingredients are light (very low in points, or 0 points), I don’t feel guilty about using my favorite cheese.

IMG_2829Ingredients & Instructions

  • Cooking spray
  • 1 cup – 2 cups filling of choice, 4 oz frozen spinach, 3 roma tomatoes, 4 oz Canadian Bacon
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup greek yogurt (I use Fage)
  • 1 cup 1% cottage cheese
  • ¼ cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • Seasonings: salt, black pepper, garlic and onion powder. 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups grated cheese of choice *10oz asagio cheese
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Spray an 8 by 8-inch baking dish or a 9 inch pie dish with cooking spray.
  2. Allow fillings to cool once cooked.
  3. Combine the eggs, greek yogurt, cottage cheese, flour, salt, and pepper, in a medium bowl. Stir together, or blend in food processor until the mixture is smooth, about 1 minute. Pour the mixture into a bowl with the filling ingredients. Add ½ the cheese and mix. Pour the mixture into the baking dish and smooth out the top. Top with remaining cheese.
  4. Bake until set, about 45 minutes. Remove the baking dish from the oven. It will be puffed up, but will fall slightly as it cools. Allow it to cool, then, refrigerate. Cut it into squares and serve.

The link to the original recipe is below:

Healthy Crustless Quiche Base Recipe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2015 by in Entree and tagged , , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
