Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

The Easiest Red Velvet Cupcakes Ever

Sometimes cupcakes are the best currency.IMG_6590

Last week, one of Sergio’s uncles (who is a Notary Public) notarized a document that allowed me to make a bank transfer in the states. He wouldn’t accept my money, so I promised to send over some baked sweets as a thank you.

Today I will have a dentist appointment with my Sweety Sergio DDS and his assistant Jenny. Apparently (for shame) I have a hefty cavity that needs fixing and they will be taking care of me today. My husband won’t accept my money, nor will his assistant, so I decided to pay her with cupcakes!

Jenny is a big fan of American style baked goods. She and all of Sergio’s colleagues at the dentist office get really excited when I send over treats, and today I decided to expand their minds and send over Red Velvet Cupcakes.

IMG_6589Red Velvet is slowly catching on in Mexico. You can’t find prepared cakes, cupcakes or even the box mix too easily. But really, every time I have made a red velvet cake, I have become instantly popular! The cool mix of chocolate and vanilla, with the sweet buttercream frosting gets people really excited!

Last night, after my private English lessons, I went into my kitchen and whipped up these cupcakes with my dog Mickey Mouse. I cheated and used Betty Crocker box mix, just because it is more convenient and much faster than making them from scratch.

IMG_6592

Sorry Mickey Mouse! Cupcakes are not for puppies!

The instructions are as follows:

1. Prepare the mix (1 box mix, 3 eggs, 1.25 cups of water, .5 cup vegetable oil mixed).

2. Line your cupcakes with the liners, no Pam necessary.

3. Pour the batter so that the cupcake liners are 2/3 full

4. Stick them in the oven, cook at 350F/177C for 10 minutes, than rotate the tin180 degrees, and cook 10 minutes until the tops are cakey/cracked.

5. Cool in the tin for about 5 minutes. Remove the cupcakes and repeat (one box makes about 24 cupcakes). When the cupcakes are cool, ice them.

For the cream cheese frosting, I recommend the Sweet Cream Cheese Frosting that I published in my blog. I think I would halve the recipe so that I can frost all of the cupcakes, but not so heavily.

Stay classy my friends!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2015 by in Dessert, Sweets and tagged , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
