Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

“The Chewy” – The World’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookie (Food Network)

Making cookies can be a pain in the you-know-what, but then what if you have the wrong recipe? OMG. The horror. The time wasted. The ingredients wasted.  But don’t worry, I am here to share with you the most famous cookie recipe of all time, developed by food god Alton Brown. It is called The Chewy.

IMG_6631

I’ve been making these consistently since mid-February, right before Valentines Day to be exact. I don’t remember why, but since then I have made them at least 4 times.

I made them for Valetines Day. Then I made them for a school potluck. Yesterday I made them for my in-laws and literally, every time I make them people are wowed and amazed. My neighbors love them. My co-workers love them. My Sweety Sergio DDS’s co-workers love them. My family loves them. Even the twin sister-in-laws who don’t like chocolate love them.

But beware, these cookies can cause conflicts. One time, I sent them over to my neighbors house freshly baked. Mistake! My neighbors daughter smelled them from upstairs, came running down, and ate all four one after the other, leaving none for the rest of her family. I sent Sergio’s colleague a bag of eight cookies to the clinic. Three made it home to his wife and children. I made them yesterday for a family lunch and my brother and law missed out, now there are hurt feelings. Seriously, with great recipes come great responsibilities. Beware.

Not deterred by these warnings? Great! The link is here:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/the-chewy-recipe.html

The best part about making these cookies is that they are not so hard to make! To help you along (hopefully) I will share below some tips and hints that I have discovered on my own cookie-making journey. I will tell you though, I detest making cookies because of the high maintenance and the repetition involved, but really if you are going to make cookies, they might as well be these. Here are the tips:IMG_6632

1. I bake them at 350 Degrees Farenheit for 14 minutes. I rotate the pan 180 Degrees at the 7 minute mark.

2. Using parchment paper for the baking.

3. Let the dough freeze for 45 minutes (at least) after making. Leave it overnight if you can!

4. Use a food scale to measure out 1.3 oz portions (yes. 1.three ounces, its the perfect sized cookie). Roll the cookie dough into a ball, put in back in your mixing bowl, the dough should rest in the freezer as much as possible. Work fast, the cookies turn out better if your butter is chilled and not melted. I get 30 cookies out of each batch.

5. Bake 8 at a time on a standard baking sheet, and I only bake one sheet of cookies at a time because my oven is small.

6. Take them out when they are still poofy and lighter brown in color. That way when they cool they will not be so flat and crunchy, but chewy and soft.

7. Give them 5 minutes to rest on the baking sheet after pulling them out of the oven. Then slide the parchment paper with the cookies off the pan, onto a cool surface.

8. I use all-purpose flour without a problem. Also, my baking soda is never new. Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips are the best. I use light milk every time.

IMG_6634In my husbands own words: “So soft. Chewy. Heavenly. They taste like heaven.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2015 by in Dessert, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
