Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Carb-Free, Vegetarian Lasagna (Skinnytaste)

Hello fellow foodies,

This week it was time to get back on the wagon and eat healthy. I ate far too much during Spring Break (at all my favorite San Diego restaurants) and it was time to come back to reality, and to eat wholesome, clean, healthy foods. IMG_3109

This week I treated myself and my sweety to Skinnytaste Zucchini Lasagna, one of our favorite dishes. I make it every couple of months because it is labor intensive, me and my sweety usually tag-team on this but definitely worth the time and effort. The Chef’s recipe calls for you to make the sauce from scratch, but shhhhhhh…I use Prego Traditional Sauce and love it. I also insist on using cheese that I grate myself (because sometimes Sargento pre-grated cheese just doesn’t do it for me) and I think that makes the pasta more delicious.

We love it because it is a really filling dish, and is a great way to get your servings of vegetables and dairy. I like to mix sauteed or thawed frozen spinach into the ricotta filling to stuff more vegetables into the lasagna. I don’t miss the pasta at all, I love the fact that it is lighter but it doesn’t feel or taste “diety.”

Below are some tips and tricks that I can offer you as you make this dish. Be assured, it is definitely worth the extra time to substitute zucchini for pasta. I doubt your kids or husband will make a big fuss because everything is just SO GOOD.

The Cheat Sheet:

1. it is Weight Watchers 8pp per 1/8 of the pan for vegetarian lasagna. I left out the meat “just because” and I love it as is. I’m sure it would be great with ground turkey or beef, or maybe italian sausage.

2. Use a mandoline slicer to save you time and effort. I have thin sliced the zucchini before and takes far too much time.

3. Use a pre-made sauce if you don’t have time to make it from scratch. I never have the time or patience! Maybe you can find a nice bolognese sauce or a red sauce with added mushrooms for more veggie servings!

4. While your zucchini is resting (with salt), make your ricotta cheese mix and pre-heat the oven.

5. While you grill your zucchini (like 6-8 slices at a time), set the grilled zucchini aside in a bowl. Start layering your lasagna. It is multi-tasking at its finest.

6. If you want to make it slightly later, I would say halve the mozzerella cheese, use half of the amount in between the layers, and the rest on top of your lasagna.

7. Grate your own cheese! It is worth the extra effort I promise you!

Enjoy!

One comment on “Carb-Free, Vegetarian Lasagna (Skinnytaste)

  1. liveinloveorganics
    April 12, 2015

    Omg sounds soooo good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
