Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Nutella Cookie Cups

A loooong time ago, back in San Diego, my friends and I slowly but surely became addicted to Pinterest. It seems like there is NOTHING you can’t find on that website, I mean. WOW.
Anyways, one of my friends stumbled onto this recipe and it was an immediate success in our office. I’ve made them multiple times and people love the treat.

Basically, it is cookie dough that you roll into a ball and bake. Then you use a shot glass to make an indent in the dough, which you promptly fill with Nutella (or Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, by the way). IMG_7396

Let me warn you, these are not a treat for the faint-hearted, hurried chef. They are a bit high maintenance and require an awful lot of “active” time in the kitchen and lots of clean up. In fact, every time that I make them, I think to myself “now I remember why I don’t make these more often.”

But then I eat one, and then another, and then another, and then I curse myself before having just one more. These things are delicious, and addictive. The recipe makes about fifty of these delicious cookie cups! I made them the other day as a treat for my fellow teachers, and they disappeared quickly. They are a great sweet to make for goody bags (since the recipe makes a ton) and birthday parties. Also, if you are going on one of those family vacations, they stay fresh for about a week! The original recipe link is here. Below I have pasted the recipe and instructions that I follow to save myself time and effort.

Nutella Cookie CupsIMG_7397

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter (softened)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Large Jar of Nutella (12 tablespoons per batch)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease your mini muffin tin (unless non-stick).
  2. In medium bow, combine flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  3. Cream butter and both sugar in bowl until light, smooth and fluffy, about 2 to 3 minutes. Beat in eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add vanilla until fully incorporated. Add flour mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. With a tablespoon, scoop a table spoon of dough into your hand and roll it into a ball. Pop them in the mini muffin tin and bake for 12 minutes, until golden brown but not too dark around the edges.
  5. When done, remove from oven and start a timer for 15 minutes. Working quickly, immediately make wells for the nutella with a shot glass, a similar object, or a spoon. Add 1 Tablespoon Nutella to each cup, then to back and swirl it around to make it nice and smooth.
  6. When your 15-minute timer goes off, use a plastic spoon to remove your cookie cups from the tin (or simply rotate and pull your cookies out if the pan is cool enough).
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2015 by in Dessert, Sweets and tagged , , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
