Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Mom’s Meatloaf

IMG_0175

Meatloaf is the most American thing in the whole world, and it is possibly the most delicious dish to come from our United States. I think this is the first of my mother’s recipes that I made successfully to impress my sweety, and voila it worked! Seriously, the way to a mans heart is through his stomach!

It just tastes so homemade and full of love. Meatloaf is the greatest, and with a side of potatoes. Yum. Seriously. I make this meatloaf recipe all of the time for my husband, and I think that is is the secret reason that he loves me. Unfortunately I don’t know the Weight Watchers points for this one, but if I take the time to calculate the points I will post them :). I’m guessing 8PP per slice (a slice being one 10th of the pan). Really, the only thing that is cumbersome about the recipe is that is that there is a fair amount of prep, but it is basically “mix and bake.”

PREP 15 minutes

COOK 1 hour
TOTAL 1 hour, 15 minutes

IMG_0479Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup of toasted bread crumbs
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1 packet of bacon
  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 packet Lipton Onion Powder (or 1 oz chicken bouillion with onion powder).

InstructionsIMG_0480

  1. Preheat oven 350F/170C
  2. Fry bacon to medium-well, preserve grease
  3. Place half of the bacon in bottom of the pan
  4. Mix meat, soup packet, bread crumbs, carrot, eggs, water and ketchup with hands. Add salt/pepper. I recommend adding the water last so that you don’t add too much and it doesn’t get watery. You should be able to form a shape with the meatloaf
  5. Put in bread pan, top with bacon grease and remaining bacon. Alternatively mold into desired shape (heart, mickey mouse, etc) and place on greased baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 350F/170C for 1 hour.

As you can see, for a party I made two loaves and baked them on the pan together. I used a regular loaf pan to shape my meat loaves and put them on the baking sheet. They came out really good, juicy and not dry. But also they get more of that delicious crusty edge when you bake them on the pan.

I hope you love it! Also if you have a meatloaf glaze that you can recommend, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2015 by in beef, dinner, Entree, lunch and tagged , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
