Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Low-Fat Baked Ziti (SkinnyTaste)

IMG_7481(left) Baked Ziti, after combining all of the ingredients, but before it goes in the oven topped with mozerella.

Sometimes I have the absolute need for pasta. I decided to try my hand at a health baked ziti this week. I enjoyed eating this as I grew up, by the version my mother made me was full of Polish Kielbasa Sausage, which shockingly is not the healthiest meat in all of the seven kingdoms.

Anywho, I found this version again on Skinnytaste.com. This version is vegetarian, though I had a heated internal debate as to whether I should have added some of my Trader Joe’s Chicken Sausage (which is worth it’s weight in gold). This recipe is very, very easy. Gina (the Skinnytaste Chef), advocates making your own pasta sauce, but I have to admit that I used Prego Traditional sauce for my Baked Ziti. I just didn’t have the energy to attempt homemade sauce, but one day I will make it and share it with you.  Below is the recipe (copied from Skinnytaste.com, link is above)

Low Fat Baked Pasta with Spinach
Skinnytaste.com
IMG_7482Servings: 8 • Size: 1/8th portion • Points+: 8 pts

  • 12 oz uncooked pasta such as ziti
  • 28 oz crushed tomatoes (I recommend: Tuttorosso)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 10 oz frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste
  • 8 oz fat-free ricotta
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 cups (8 oz) shredded part skim mozzarella (I recommend: Polly-O)
  • olive oil cooking spray

Right before going into the oven, yay!
Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray a 9×13-inch baking pan with oil spray.

In a large pot of salted water, cook pasta according to instructions until al dente. Drainand return to pot.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, add olive oil and sauté garlic. Add chopped spinach, salt pepper and crushed tomatoes. Season with basil, oregano, salt and pepper.

Add sauce to the pasta and combine the ziti. Add half of the mozzarella, Parmesan cheese and ricotta. Mix well then transfer to the baking pan.

Pour the pasta mixture into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Top with the remaining mozzarella.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until mozzarella is melted and the edges are lightly browned. Let it cool 5 minutes, then cut it into 8 equal portionsIMG_7486

To make the baked Ziti, you just cook the pasta and make your sauce if you choose. Meanwhile you mix spinach, ricotta, parmesan and mozzerella together in a large bowl. Then you add the sauce and pasta and mix everything together. Put it your mixture in a baking pan and top with mozerella. Bake it for 30 minutes and you are ready to go. You could make it during the week without too much trouble, but I find that I have 0 time or energy to cook during the week and prefer to make everything before.

Bon apetite!

The final result, deliciousity in a pan.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2015 by in dinner, lunch, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
