Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Key Lime Pie (Disneyworld Resort, from Olivia’s Cafe)

IMG_7810

One time over dinner, one of Sergio’s uncles told me that he was grateful for many wonderful dishes from the US, and the best one was of course, Key Lime Pie.

I was quick to agree, I am a fan of key lime ANYTHING, but pie takes the cake (HA).

As you also know, I am a die hard fan of Disney, especially when I get to discover Disney recipes that I can make with ease. This, luckily of all of us, is one of those recipes.

This pie takes a grand total of 30 minutes to make. 15 minutes to squeeze limes, and combine the juice with sweetened condensed milk, egg yolks, and pour it into a graham cracker crust. Then another minutes to bake. Easy as pie. (HA).

I found the recipe at this fabulous website called the Disney Food Blog (click here for the Key Lime Pie recipe).  You can find a ton of Disney recipes here, and it is definitely worth a gander.

Ingredients

-5 large egg yolks

-1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

-2/3 cup Key lime juice (I squeeze the juice fresh, I just think that it tastes better. Also, this tells the people who are eating my pie that I love them)

-1 prepared 9-inch graham cracker pie crust

-1 can of whipped cream (optional) and 1 lime to use as garnish (optional)

Instructions

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Step 2: The FillingIMG_7811

– Separate egg yolks into a mixing bowl.

– Gently whisk the yolks together in a bowl; do not let them foam.

– Stirring constantly, slowly blend in the sweetened condensed milk.

– Keep stirring as you add the Key lime juice.

Step 3: Assemble and Bake the Pie

– Pour the mixture into the prepared pie crust. The filling is already super thick and creamy thanks to your egg yolks and sweetened condensed milk! You might want to use a spatula to scrape the bowl…you won’t want to miss an ounce of this pie filling!

– Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until set.

Step 4: Chilling the Pie

– Remove the pie from the oven. It will look golden and yummy, but it’s not quite ready, yet! Trust me, it’s way worth the wait!

– Cool to room temperature on a wire rack. This part is really important! If you don’t let the pie completely cool to room temperature before you refrigerate, your pie will crack!

-Once it has cooled completely, chill, covered, until very cold. You can use the plastic cover that your pie crust came with to cover for the fridge!

-Serve chilled, cut into wedges. Cut up cute lil pieces of lime and place them on top of the whipped cream for an ooh la la presentation!

Once I have a picture of my Key Lime Pie, I will post it (but it came out just like these). Thank you very much Carol E. Baker for posting this recipe for all of us to enjoy!

Also, I cannot emphasize the importance of using sweetened condensed milk. Due to a language barrier mix-up, I bought just condensed milk by mistake. Oh MY GOD. So bad. I tried to fix my pies by blending in 1 1/4 cup of sugar into my pies (which had already been in the oven and failed to cook properly). I baked them again. Didn’t work. I gave up and froze them. Weeks later, I decided to use my MyCook machine to make ice cream. I made the English Cream base, and dumped the pies into my MyCook. I froze the mixture, and ended up with the best key lime pie ice cream in all the land.

But really, just save yourself the time, effort, and money and get it right the first time. Sweetened condensed milk people. SWEETENED.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2015 by in Dessert and tagged , , , , , .

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
