Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

IMG_8477

So I am on a mission to try a new recipe each week. I found this recipe for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake (PUDC) a few weeks ago via Pinterest, and decided to go for it.

Note: I hate foods that are fake or synthetic. I just don’t believe that our bodies are made to process or benefit from junk foods or fake sugars. Fake sugars especially freak me out, I just can’t handle them. I drink a soda like three times per year, and when I do it is Mexican Coca Cola with cane sugar. When I bake, I make sweets with real, natural ingredients and enjoy it immensely.

I just had it for breakfast with a black coffee, and yowza it is so good.  The moisture level was just right, despite the fact that I inverted the cake last night, it didn’t get to mushy or wet to enjoy.

It is a two step recipe, and I deviated only once from the recipe by using a different pan than it called for. I knew that my Caphalon 10 inch pan would overflow and cause me a big fat mess in my oven, so I used my 9 x 13 Glass Pyrex. I used this website to help me decide what kind of pan to use.

Anyways, you will find the original recipe here.  I calculated the points on my Weight Watchers recipe builder, and 16 slices are 5pp each.  I thought that it would be more points, so I was pleased. I think next time I will take out about 25% of the butter and sugar to reduce the points. Also, I used whole milk to make my buttermilk this time around. Next time I will use 1% milk to get those points lower.

Prep time: 45 minutes Baking time: 50 minutes (due to high altitude in Mexico City)

IMG_8468

Ingredients

34 cups flour

2 tsp. baking powder

14 tsp. fine salt

13 cups unsalted butter

1 cup sugar

1 tbsp. distilled white vinegar

3 tsp. vanilla

3 eggs

13 cups low-fat buttermilk

10 tbsp. dark brown sugar

2 tbsp. brandy

7 slices canned pineapple

12 cups stemmed maraschino cherries

InstructionsIMG_8471

  1. Heat oven to 350°.
  2. In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
  3. Using an electric beater, cream together 12 tbsp. butter, sugar, vinegar, and 2 tsp. vanilla until fluffy, 3–4 minutes.
  4. Add one egg at a time to butter mixture, beating for 15 seconds between each addition.
  5. Set beater speed to low and alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk in 3 batches.
  6. Scrape down sides of the bowl. Set mixer speed to medium and beat batter until smooth, about 3 minutes. Set aside.
  7. Melt remaining butter in a 10″ nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
  8. Whisk in remaining vanilla, brown sugar, and brandy until dissolved, 1 minute.
  9. Remove skillet from heat; arrange pineapple slices across bottom of skillet. Arrange cherries evenly among the slices. Pour in cake batter.
  10. Bake until cake is golden and set, about 35 minutes. Let cool for 30 minutes. Invert onto a serving plate.

Just some logistical notes:

  1. I baked the cake for 50 minutes, to make sure that the center of the cake was golden (not brown) and set.
  2. I baked my cake in a Pyrex, and it turned out perfectly.
  3. I inverted my cake into my storage contained after letting the cake cool for 20 minutes. I was afraid that if I let it stay for the full 30 minutes that the bottom (the delicious sticky topping) would stick to my pan and ruin my cake later.
  4. To create your own buttermilk, use 1 tbsp white vinegar with 8 oz of milk and let sit for 10 minutes. Here I used 1 1/3 tbsp of white vinegar with 10.7 oz of milk.
  5. I am storing it in a plastic container on my kitchen counter. So far so good!

IMG_8474I baked this for my husband and I to enjoy, but it is easy enough to throw together the day of and take fresh to an event. You just have to plan ahead to make sure you have sufficient time.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
