Nosh, Gobble, Scarf

The Place for the Healthy Foodie and Hurried Chef

Chicken, Sweet Potato and Kale Soup (SkinnyTaste)

IMG_8628Prepare yourself for the most delicious winter soup of all time. OF ALL TIME.

I found this recipe on the SkinnyTaste website (link here) and said “hmm, sounds weird.”  A few weeks later (aka, yesterday) I looked at it and said “ok, why not?”

Then I went to the grocery store:

No sweet potatoes

No kale

No nothing.

Determined to make this work, I bought arugula to substitute for kale (spinach would have worked too) and then I went home, hoping that the sweet potato I bought was ok.

It was a squishy mess, the stuff of nightmares for a budding chef. I almost screamed, and threw it away.

Then I looked for quinoa and I didn’t have any.

Oh. my. gosh.

Desperate, I texted one of my friends. No dice.

Nearing hysteria, I called my husband, and he saved my sorry hide by going to Walmart. I love you sweety!

So yesterday I brewed up this soup and my oh my, it surpassed by expectations by far. I must tell you, I didn’t think that it would be so good, and it was. In five words it is: hearty, healthy, filling, just-hot-enough, and good for you. I know I cheated and used false hyphens and too many words, but I don’t care because thats how much I love this soup.

But enough of the drama and praise, below you will find the recipe from Skinnytaste.com! Ready, set, go!

Sweet Potato Chicken Soup
Skinnytaste.com
Servings: 6 • Size: 1 1/2 cups  • Old Points: 4 pts • Weight Watcher Points+: 5 pt
Calories: 223 • Fat: 4 g • Carb: 19 g • Fiber: 4 g • Protein: 28 g • Sugar: 2 g
Sodium: 1142 mg (without salt)  • Cholest: 63 mg
Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, on the bone, skin removed (about 26 oz total with bone)
  • 1 teaspoon seasoning salt (such as adobo)
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 6 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced 1-inch cubes
  • 3 cups kale, roughly chopped
  • 1 fresh jalapeno, sliced in half lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  1. Season the chicken with the adobo and set aside while you prep all your vegetables.
  2. Heat a large nonstick pot or Dutch oven over medium-low heat
  3. Add the oil and the onions and celery and cook until soft and golden, about 8 to 10 minutes
  4. Add the garlic and dry spices and cook 2 to 3 minutes
  5. Add the chicken broth, chicken, jalapeno and cilantro, cover and cook 20 minutes
  6. Add the sweet potato and kale and cook until the sweet potatoes are tender and the chicken is cooked, about 25 to 30 minutes.
  7. Remove the chicken, shred or cut up and discard the bones. Return to the pot, discard the jalapeno and serve the soup into 6 bowls.

Then, feel really happy and really proud.

The end!

Leave a Reply

Past Posts and Recipes

Follow Nosh, Gobble, Scarf on WordPress.com
